LynnSlyWrites

Home » NaBloPoMo » Cake and circuses

Cake and circuses

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

LynnSlyWrites

LynnSlyWrites

When Lynn is not writing, she is kept busy caring for her family and their pets. "Hillary’s Angel" is her first novel and "Upside Down" her second.

View Full Profile →

Wrote this one for you:

Daily Prompt: About Page of the Future

Write the About page for your blog in 10 years.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us FUTURE.

my birthday cake

My lavender is leggy and my birdbaths are half full.
I’m now blogger by exception and reader by the rule.
With no more ties to bind me, no deadlines to fulfil,
My mind is free to wander as I chill beside the pool.
I’m living in the present ’cause it gives me peace of mind;
no worrying ’bout pension payments or stuff that I can’t find.
I’m eating what I want to: steak, potatoes, soup and greens,
cut out all fruit (‘cept apples), chickpeas, lentils and mung beans.
The library books I’m reading are the ones I’ve read before
not because they are the good ones, just the closest to the door.
I don’t care what I’ve accomplished (leave that laptop there to rest!)
as long as I have friends to call and get things off my chest.
I’ll know that I am done for, that my time is finished when
I’ve got no-one left to live for, NOT at three-score-years and ten.

Leave a Reply

My first book – click to preview

