LynnSlyWrites

Home » NaNoWriMo 2013 » Movember

Movember

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

LynnSlyWrites

LynnSlyWrites

When Lynn is not writing, she is kept busy caring for her family and their pets. "Hillary’s Angel" is her first novel and "Upside Down" her second.

View Full Profile →

Wrote this one for you:

On Thursday I met a gentleman with a handlebar moustache. He had no intention of shaving it off to begin a fresh growth for the international moustache growing month of Movember, but chatting to him gave me an idea for a story … and in the US of A this is also National Novel Writing Month…

November has thirty twenty-four hour days (believe me). So if I write one 300-word page an hour (and that’s on a good day) I must set aside five hours a day to write 50 000 words by the time you’ve all grown your moustaches and saved the planet. But where do I find a spare five hours a day during mulberry season? Even if I resist the temptation [crazy laughter] to make gallons of juice, jam and shortcake, the berries won’t rake themselves into neat little piles like they did in Camelot. So I guess I should join the National Blog Writing Month effort instead…

But it is tempting. If I set aside the forty-five minutes a day I spend looking for my cell phone, plus the half an hour I spend looking for my keys, postpone breakfast and lunch until suppertime, and spend all day in my pyjamas… No, frankly, I stand more chance of growing a moustache.

Leave a Reply

My first book – click to preview

