LynnSlyWrites

Home » Poetry » bits of Byron

bits of Byron

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

LynnSlyWrites

LynnSlyWrites

When Lynn is not writing, she is kept busy caring for her family and their pets. "Hillary’s Angel" is her first novel and "Upside Down" her second.

View Full Profile →

Wrote this one for you:

This effort for NaPoWriMo #26 is based on an excerpt from Canto 3 of Byron’s Childe Harold’s Pilgrimage, which is quoted in full below.

‘Tis in creating that we endow
With form
life
art
of my thought
Invisible
spirit
And feeling
I have thought
became
boiling
whirling
And untaught
springs
changed
In strength
without accusing

‘Tis to create, and in creating live
A being more intense, that we endow
With form our fancy, gaining as we give
The life we image, even as I do now.
What am I? Nothing: but not so art thou,
Soul of my thought! with whom I traverse earth,
Invisible but gazing, as I glow
Mix’d with the spirit, blended with thy birth,
And feeling still with thee in my crush’d feelings’ dearth.
Yet must I think wildly: — I have thought
Too long and darkly, till my brain became,
In its own eddy boiling and o’erwrought,
A whirling gulf of phantasy and flame:
And thus, untaught in youth my heart to tame,
My springs of life were poison’d. ‘Tis too late!
Yet am I changed; though still enough the same
In strength to bear what time can not abate,
And feed on bitter fruits without accusing Fate.

Leave a Reply

My first book – click to preview

