LynnSlyWrites

Home » Poetry » A lizard’s life

A lizard’s life

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

LynnSlyWrites

LynnSlyWrites

When Lynn is not writing, she is kept busy caring for her family and their pets. "Hillary’s Angel" is her first novel and "Upside Down" her second.

View Full Profile →

Wrote this one for you:

P1060093
My head is blue, my waistcoat too
My forelegs they are yellow
my back it is a speckled brown
and orange for my belly.
My hindlegs too are tangerine,
which makes for flashy viewing
when I feed – my lizard’s leap
invariably ends in chewing.
Augrabies Falls has big black flies
so crunchy and so juicy.
When I jump it’s cos a plump
and crispy fly’s a’cruising.
My wife is just a drab brown-grey
with plain white stripes and speckles.
It’s only I who’ll catch your eye
like some fluorescent metal.
“So what’s your name?” I hear you ask.
It’s Platysaurus broadleyi.
A mouthful, yes, but better than
Flat Lizard, wouldn’t you say?
P1060127
My apologies to those of you who’ve seen these particular pics of Augrabies Falls and Flat Lizard before. This is Day 22 of NaPoWriMo and the pressure is building!!

Leave a Reply

