LynnSlyWrites

Home » Anecdote » Any mom with a “special” child need a friend?

Any mom with a “special” child need a friend?

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

LynnSlyWrites

LynnSlyWrites

When Lynn is not writing, she is kept busy caring for her family and their pets. "Hillary’s Angel" is her first novel and "Upside Down" her second.

View Full Profile →

Wrote this one for you:

The book is set on a farm that breeds and trains pointers. This is me on the beach with my cousin Jack’s rescued pointer Lucky.

I’ve written a book about being the mom of a “special” child. I wrote it as fiction so I could combine stories from different moms rather than just telling one mom’s story. Agents I approached told me that what they wanted was a true life story from just one mom. So my ms sat around for years until an ad popped up on my screen “Wanted: South African writers”. Of course it was just another one of those self-publishing things, so I didn’t follow up. But they were SOoo persistent. In the end to get them to stop emailing me I told them I was not interested because it would cost me more than I earn in a year. Then they came back with a new suggestion: If I edited it myself and published in paperback they could make it much more affordable. Well I am an editor after all, so I caved in. But now I’m finally published I find I can’t afford the shipping costs! Instead I’m going to have a big party (with no books to sign) and just celebrate that I’m finally in print. What the hell! if I only sell ebooks or kindle versions — even that will be a better than having an old ms sitting around gathering dust in a box under my desk.

Leave a Reply

My first book – click to preview

